Dave – ‘I Will Be Back’

I tried to make myself available yesterday by trying out my new leg and taking my first steps on the road back.

The computer assisted designed socket fitted well but requires some tight spots relieved and the electronic knee was not as yet reconfigured for my weight so it had a tendency to not lock when transferring my weight. But I was able to walk, albeit like a drunken sailor, just like the old times.

The Doc will do all the adjustments and next week I should start in earnest, but remember it takes a child 18 months to learn to walk and I have to learn all over again, this time with a leg not connected to my brain… It is a heavy item to swing around so no quick singles when batting with me.

All that was missing was the song by Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, “Davey’s On The Road Again” and Arnie said it best for me – “I Will Be Back”.

So let this be a warning to all the Rollers out there, play whilst you can, life can be a bitch and I will be pushing for a spot in the side next season and that is only 4 games away!!!!!!!

About West Coast Rollers

Founded in the early-90s, the West Coast Rollers is a social cricket side that has become so much more than that - we are a brotherhood that just happen to be quite good at cricket and even better at drinking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

